In a society where every corner is another pizza place, serving slices containing cow’s milk cheeses and topped with copious amounts of meat, where do those who exclude animal-based ingredients go?
Thankfully, as years go by, more and more cruelty-free options are made available for vegans craving pizza.
Add Blaze Pizza, currently located in Irvine and Pasadena, California, to the growing list of restaurants with vegan cheese options available!
The artisan style pizzeria, that uses vegan favorite Daiya (confirmed by an employee) on its cruelty-free pizzas, recently announced its plan to build locations in other select cities.
Blaze Pizza addresses vegan options, and what vegans should be aware of on its website:
I am vegan. What can I eat?
Lots! Our traditional pizza crust is made simply from filtered water, unbleached flour, extra-virgin olive oil, salt and a touch of sugar. (We are still finishing up the development of our gluten free crust. It may or may not contain eggs when we are finished.) We offer a vegan cheese option, and, of course, none of our vegetable toppings contain any meat, egg or dairy products. If ordering a salad, please be aware that our house Italian Dressing, Balsamic Glaze and Caesar Dressing all contain dairy. Stick to the olive oil and vinegar, and you can rest assured that the only mammalian contact your food will have is from our loyal employees. You’ll have to skip dessert, as our S’more Pie graham cookie and milk chocolate contain dairy, and the fire-roasted marshmallow contains gelatin.
For more information, click here.
Photo credit: Blaze Pizza