Gelatin: What every vegetarian and vegan should know about this food additive

Share |

An article recently published on has brought some much needed attention to a little-known food additive that all vegetarians and vegans should be made aware of: gelatin.

Gelatin is a flavorless, colorless protein added as a stabilizer, thickener, or texturizer to a long list of foods such as marshmallows, jello, poptarts, candy, and cereal. It is also used as a gelling agent in pharmaceuticals (capsules), photography, and cosmetics. Gelatin is created by extracting collagen from the skins of pigs, cows, and perhaps one day soon soon, humans (seriously).

With the exception of protein, gelatin is essentially devoid of nutrients. And while the heating process seems to eliminate most bacteria, it's always wise to approach any product emerging from the bowels of gruesome factory farms with extreme caution.

Regardless, if you're (understandably) looking to avoid the consumption of gelatin, make sure to first and foremost ALWAYS thoroughly read the ingredient label of any unfamiliar product.

There are also vegetarian-friendly gelatin alternatives, such as pectin, agar (seaweed), and guar gum.

Feel free to share your thoughts on our Facebook page.

Jonathan Reynolds
Jonathan is a freelance writer and blogger residing in upstate New York.

Photo credit: cc:

© 2015 This Dish Is Veg / This Dish Is Vegetarian - Reproduction without permission is prohibited. All Rights Reserved.
The opinions expressed by This Dish Is Veg contributors and commenters do not necessarily reflect the opinions of This Dish Is Veg.
Original template by Wpthemedesigner and Blogger Templates. Design customization by This Dish Is Veg/DF.