TDIV Q&A: Is sugar vegan?

Share |

Unfortunately, not all sugar is vegan. While it doesn’t include any animal ingredients, most of the big sugar companies use a refining process that involves animal bone char. The bone char, or charcoal, is used to get rid of unwanted colors, minerals and impurities from the sugar.

While this definition of “vegan” does mean getting down to the nitty-gritty of veganism, the decision is ultimately up to you. Fortunately, this refining process is only used for cane sugar, so there are other sugars that are completely safe. “Safe” sugars include: unrefined cane sugar, turbinado, succanat, beet, date sugar, barley malt, rice syrup, corn syrup, molasses and maple syrup.

Christina Matekel | Facebook | Blog
Idaho Christina grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area but is currently attending school in Idaho, where she is finishing up her last semester as an undergrad. She currently has one cute and furry guinea pig named Timothy Hay, one sweet and cuddly cat named Jack, and one really nice husband named Zach. Christina became vegetarian at age 13 after reading about her favorite band’s foray into vegetarianism. She went vegan when she was 16 because it was the only logical action she felt she could take after reading more about animal abuse. She may not have a loud mouth or a persuasive voice, but she believe she can make a difference (and share some dang good recipes) through writing.


© 2015 This Dish Is Veg / This Dish Is Vegetarian - Reproduction without permission is prohibited. All Rights Reserved.
The opinions expressed by This Dish Is Veg contributors and commenters do not necessarily reflect the opinions of This Dish Is Veg.
Original template by Wpthemedesigner and Blogger Templates. Design customization by This Dish Is Veg/DF.