Last week the teacher of my son's nursery school class was so excited that a parent brought enough Stonyfield brand O' Soy yogurt for the class. She assumed it was vegan because it was made from soy and so my son, along with the rest of the class, devoured it. I was so happy to hear this that I went right to the store to buy some.
As a meticulous vegan, I always read labels. It is always fantastic when the "V" for vegan label is already on the package but sometimes it's not and I am happy to read through the list myself. In this case, O' Soy says it is made with organic soy milk, organic fruit, and a family recipe. It also says, "contains soy and milk (our live active cultures are milk based."
I was surprised to read this. I assumed, as I am sure the teacher and mom who brought this brand to the class, that a soy yogurt would be automatically vegan. I am kind of outraged by this. I probably need to calm down but really, if you are going to the extent to make a soy based yogurt why not go all the way?
The branding highlights that the product is organic, kosher, gluten-free, and offered in cups made out of mostly recycled material. The one claim that I dispute is that they consider their product to be natural, not artificial. There is nothing natural about taking the milk of mother cows and turning it into a snack for humans. But if this company realized that, they would essentially go out of business.
Be warned, O' Soy is NOT vegan!