Did you know that not all wine is vegan? Yes, it is true. Many winemakers utilize animal products during the winemaking process. Fish bladders, gelatin made from cow or pig hooves, egg whites, and casein are used to filter out grape skins, stems and pits. Obviously, these wines are not suitable for vegans.
Luckily, the Vegan Sommelier, an internet based wine retailer based in Virginia, offers limited production wines, both domestic and foreign, made the traditional way, meaning they are not processed with any animal products! Because the United States does not have any labeling requirements to indicate what additives are being used in processing, it is difficult to know what exactly went into the making of the wine. But John Kerr, the founder of Vegan Sommelier, says, "It's our business to know what is in your wine."
Think of the Vegan Sommelier as your own private sommelier who has tasted each and every wine they offer. They even offer club options to allow you to taste different grapes and styles. And, they will work with you to pair wine for your vegan menus especially vegan weddings.
The Vegan Sommelier sells and ships hand selected vegan wines from small wineries, many family owned. With as small a carbon footprint as possible, the Vegan Sommelier is committed to supporting a cruelty-free world through contributions to the cause.
Photo credit: Vegan Sommelier