TDIV Q&A: What are the differences between a strict vegetarian and a vegan?

Share |

What are the differences between a strict vegetarian and a vegan?

Sometimes it can be difficult to understand the meanings of the labels associated with vegetarianism and veganism. However, there are some very important differences between them.

Typically, a vegetarian is someone who does not eat meat, fish or poultry. They do, however, eat eggs, cheese and other dairy products, as well as use items, such as leather, made from animal products.

Strict vegetarians, on the other hand, avoid any animal products in their diets. This means no honey, dairy products and, obviously, meat, fish or poultry. Strict vegetarians, also known as dietary vegans, may use leather and other items made from animals.

Vegans simply do not use any animal products in any part of their lives. They avoid any product that is made from animals, including wool, leather, cosmetics and food products. They also avoid all products tested on animals, living up to the 1951 definition of veganism which says, “the doctrine that man should live without exploiting animals.”

Basically, the diets of strict vegetarians and vegans are the same, the main difference in the lifestyles is whether or not one chooses to avoid using any items made from or tested on animals.

Lexi Carr
Lexi is a student studying Fashion Merchandising with minors in Business Administration and Writing. This spring, she’s beginning yoga teacher training and hopes to start teaching by the summer. Lexi has been a vegetarian for four years and loves finding new healthy recipes and sharing them with friends and family.

Photo credit:

© 2015 This Dish Is Veg / This Dish Is Vegetarian - Reproduction without permission is prohibited. All Rights Reserved.
The opinions expressed by This Dish Is Veg contributors and commenters do not necessarily reflect the opinions of This Dish Is Veg.
Original template by Wpthemedesigner and Blogger Templates. Design customization by This Dish Is Veg/DF.