06 May 2010

Vegans rejoice, Starbucks unveils 'However-You-Want-It Frappuccino'

UPDATE 3/14/2012: Beware: Starbucks' Soy Strawberries & Creme Frappuccino is NOT vegan

Ring the bells and prepare the fireworks—with the assistance of a professional of course—Starbucks has launched its new "However-You-Want-It Frappuccino" blended beverage. And thanks to this new menu option, the delectable coffee drink that was once only available to dairy drinking customers now has a vegan friendly soy-based counterpart.

“Ordering a beverage just as you like it has always been an important part of the Starbucks Experience,” said Annie Young-Scrivner, global chief marketing officer, Starbucks Coffee Company. “The New However-You-Want-It Frappuccino® blended beverage is no exception. Our Frappuccino® blended beverages are now 100% customizable with the quality our customers expect from Starbucks."

According to Starbucks, thousands of combinations are now available by ordering the new However-You-Want-It selection including a little milk-free goody called the Soy Strawberries & Crème Frappuccino. Check out this mouthwatering description:

“Soy lovers can rejoice, with this coffee-free, non-dairy version of a classic recipe, adapted to include all-natural strawberry sauce, crème base, soy milk, blended with ice and topped with whipped cream.”

We verified with Starbucks that the “crème base” does not contain dairy and in fact is actually sugar based. So nix the whipped cream and you are in vegan—or lactose intolerant—heaven.

Additionally if the caramel drizzle in the photo above induces drooling, please note the topping does contain butter so forgo that option as well.

The However-You-Want-It Frappuccino is now available throughout the U.S. and Canada. If you are the social media type check out Starbuck’s Facebook and Twitter pages dedicated to the new menu arrival at Facebook.com/Frappuccino and Twitter.com/Frappuccino or head on over to Frappuccino.com.

Photo Credit: Starbucks